Yes, I Did That!

August 13th, 2012

Dear Bloggary,

I ate squid tonight! But I’m jumping ahead. Let me start earlier in the day.

I had lunch with some dear friends. It was a good time, but it was also sad, as very soon we will be losing one of them. No, no, Dear Bloggary, she’s not dying, she’s just deserting us…I mean she got a great job offer that she couldn’t refuse, so she is leaving us for the centre of the universe, which is, so I’ve heard, Toronto. No offense to TO, but I’d rather stay here on the edge of one of the outer galaxies, otherwise known as Nova Scotia; fewer bright lights, more open space…but I digress. She’s talented and outgoing, and will definitely shine up there in the big city.

We met through community theatre, and between bites we laughed about our less than perfect moments on stage.  At least they’ve never accidentally sung the same verse twice while wearing two shells strategically sewn on a tank top, a hula skirt, and pink crocs. (Yes, Dear Bloggary, I did that.) The lengths I’ll go to get a laugh are, apparently, limitless!

After lunch there were hugs and talk of a trip next summer. But I doubt I could survive the death trap known as the 401. Well, I might survive, but my sanity wouldn’t.

***********************************

So, tonight was cooking class.  You would think that living on the east coast I would love seafood night, but the fact is I was born a prairie girl. I always thought shellfish looked too slimy to be real food – like slugs and bug larvae, (Although I love boiled perogies, which my husband thinks look like snot balls.) so I have never tried most of it.

I promised I would try a bite of everything on my plate, including mussels, shrimp and calamari…and I did! Did I clean my plate, you ask, Dear Bloggary? Let’s just say I was still hungry after dinner and my friends were stuffed.  I think I’ll stick to eating snot balls, er, perogies, and wearing shells rather than eating from them.

That’s it for now, Dear Bloggary.

Yours, Shannon

Leave a Reply

