Close Encounter Of The Celebrity Kind

Sunday, September 2nd, 2012

Dear Bloggary,

I had my first close encounter of the celebrity kind, today, if you don’t count local celebrities, (Some of whom are friends of mine.) or politicians…Or Lenore Zann, (who is both actress and politician) because we went to school together…Or Jonathan Torrens, who has attended two of my dinner theatre productions, but with whom I’ve never spoken. (Okay, Dear Bloggary, it wasn’t my first celebrity encounter. Sheesh. But she is the biggest.)

Anyway, as I was saying, a celebrity came through my check-out, this afternoon. I recognized her voice, and when I looked up, there was Anne Murray. (No, Dear Bloggary, I didn’t ask her what she has against wind turbines. Although, Mark seemed to think that being at work, with a large line-up of customers was the perfect opportunity to get into a political argument.  Good thing he doesn’t work with the public.) And the first thing I thought upon seeing her wasn’t, “Hey, her song Snow Bird was the first song I learned to play on Ukulele, in elementary school” it was, “Wow, she’s a lot shorter in person…and not as young as I remember.” (No, Dear Bloggary, I didn’t tell her she was a little old lady, I just thought it.)

I conducted myself in a professional manner, but the look she gave me when I asked for her autograph, er, signature on her credit slip made me smirk. (No, Dear Bloggary, I didn’t keep it to sell on Kijiji.) I’m just glad I didn’t start singing Snow Bird in front of her. That would have been embarrassing. I probably would have forgotten some of the words. (Yes, Dear Bloggary, I just went through all the words in my head, and I remember every one of them. Damn! Opportunity missed.)

At least I now know that in the event of another celebrity encounter that I can guarantee that I would keep my cool. (Yes, Dear Bloggary, Johnny Depp is  exempt from that guarantee…and Hugh Jackman,…and the cast of Star Trek…and…well, I guess we’ll have to cross that bridge when we come to it.)

That’s it for tonight, Dear Bloggary. Pleasant dreams.

Yours,

Shannon

Leave a Reply

