Scented Socks And Dolly Parton Wigs

Friday, September 7th.2012

Dear Bloggary:

I love fall. (No, Dear Bloggary, I love fall, not falling. My klutziness has nothing to do with it.) Autumn is my favorite season; the air, the colours, my birthday. It just makes me happy.  The air has had that crisp, cool smell to it that is invigorating.  (Yes, Dear Bloggary, crisp and cool can be smells.) And I can feel it coming. (Fine, Dear Bloggary, I can smell it coming.)

Speaking of smells, the smells of fall are much better than the smell of rum I had on my socks most of the day, yesterday. (No, Dear Bloggary, I wasn’t wearing rum scented socks, I broke another plastic bottle at work. At least this time it was just a half pint of rum, instead of a pint. They are just not making plastic caps the way they used to.) Between the broken wine bottles three weeks ago, broken case of beer a couple of weeks ago, and these two latest incidences committed by yours truly, people are going to start thinking I’m an alcoholic, as I wander around smelling like booze all the time. (No, Dear Bloggary, I don’t dab it on like perfume, it’s a consequence of cleanup and backsplash aftermath.) The boozy paper towels in the garbage can don’t help, either.

I just received notification that I’ve been offered a part in the play for which I auditioned on Tuesday! I will be playing the part of Truvy in “Steel Magnolias.” (Yes, Dear Bloggary, the part Dolly Parton played in the movie. No, Dear Bloggary, I know I don’t look like Dolly Parton. I don’t have to, I’ll be playing Truvy, not Dolly Parton…but don’t put that blond wig away just yet. Hmmm.)

Between rehearsing for “Steel Magnolias” and writing the script for the Village Follies next dinner theatre, my free time will be limited, but I’ll try to keep in touch, Dear Bloggary.

‘Till next time, good night.

Leave a Reply

