My Obsession

Saturday, September 8th, 2012

Dear Bloggary:

Oh, the waves! The waves! Mark and I went down to Peggy’s Cove for a little jaunt. Leslie is definitely making her mark. (No, Dear Bloggary, Leslie is not the local graffiti artist, it is the latest hurricane.) It was a beautiful day, with little wind, but the ocean was extremely riled up, as Leslie continues her way north…and the colours! Turquoise, aqua, deep blue, royal blue, if it’s a shade of blue, it was there. Rocks that you could normally walk on were under water while others were smashed by the undulating sea.  I could have stayed all day watching the white foam reach for the sky. (Yes, Dear Bloggary, I have an obsession. My name is Shannon, and I am a saltwater addict.) I could never live far from the ocean without becoming deeply depressed. It is my calming influence.

So, eventually we had to leave the beauty that is Peggy’s Cove, to pick Stephie up from work and go to see Mark’s 94 year old, grandmother. She  and Mark’s aunt and uncle drove the 1800Km from Ontario. Did I mention she was 94! She had surgery last December and they weren’t sure she would make it. You’d never know to look at her now. And her mind is sharp as a tack. She remembers things that I couldn’t.

Well, I had better go to bed now, Dear Bloggary, I need my sleep. They’re calling for up to 70mm of rain tomorrow and thunderstorms, so I’ll be very nervous driving to work. (Yes, Dear Bloggary, I know the thunder won’t hurt me, but it makes me jump, anyway.) Sweet dreams.

Yours, Shannon

Leave a Reply

