The Red Menace

Saturday, September 21st, 2012

Dear Bloggary:

AHHHHHH! (Excuse me for screaming at you, Dear Bloggary.) “They” say primal screams help when you are frustrated. “They” lie…at least in this case. Unfortunately, screaming does not scare rashes away – which is the cause of my frustration. The cat took off, though – she’s the epitome of the “scaredy-cat”, everything chases her off.

It’s been about two weeks since the first small batch of red bumps popped up to say hello, and I brushed them off as nothing to concern myself with, and rubbed a little lotion into them. But, the unwelcomed visitors liked it here so much that they invited all their friends over for an extended holiday, and like unwanted house guests, they are a pain…only literally. What began as a mere irritation has turned into a war of nerves. Physically and mentally. The temptation to scratch has evolved into the need to patting myself and go topless to help ease the feel of thousands of pin pricks and burning. (Sorry for the mental image, Dear Bloggary.) The relief is momentary.

After my own attempts to chase the bumpy buggers off failed, and the infiltration of the red menace expanded, I thought it was time to call in the big guns. But after a trip to the doctor, blood work, and the clinic, the war rages on. A new frontal assault  with a second cortisone cream and antihistamine pill has begun. I remain optimistic that we shall prevail. Though I have yet to figure out how this war even began, I am determined to put down my enemy before I go totally insane. (No, Dear Bloggary, that hour has not passed, I’m only slightly insane…believe it or not.)

The symptoms have eased slightly and I am hoping for a decent night’s sleep. (Yes, Dear Bloggary, fingers crossed.) I hope to awaken refreshed and ready to continue the battle, but sleep is seldom restful during times of war. (Fine, Dear Bloggary, I’ll stop with the war analogies and simply say, “I wish this bloody rash would go away before I rip my skin off!)

Yours,

Shannon

Leave a Reply

