Book ‘Em Danno!

January 25, 2013

Dear Bloggary:

Tonight I was reading through a few blogs that I follow, and came upon this fun idea. It’s called “Finish-the Sentence Friday” It originated from a blog called, Can I Get Another Bottle of Whine. (Yes, Dear Bloggary, I agree, it is a clever title.) The premise is that they start a sentence, and you are invited to finish it. So, although this is blog/diary (Bloggary) I’ve decided to finish it… the sentence, that is. (Indulge me, Dear Bloggary.)

Finish the Sentence Friday

The sentence of the week is:

When I was Younger, I tried…

…to start my own library. (Yes, Dear Bloggary, I am that nerdy.) I was about ten or eleven, and my father had set up a tent in our back yard. I loved to read in the tent,  and always had books scattered across the floor.  Neighbourhood kids would come in, look at a book or two and leave. That was when I got the bright idea to start my own library. (Yes, Dear Bloggary, I do sometimes get those.)

I went into the house, got the supplies I thought I might need, and lugged them out to the Buttercup Library. (Named, Dear Bloggary, after the tiny, lemon-hued, wild flowers that had sprung up  around the tent.) I constructed and taped card holders onto the inside, back covers of books, and fashioned fancy paper cards out of Manila paper to fill them. After I found an old stamp and pad that would work perfectly in my library, I opened for business. It was fun to stamp out the books and file the handful of cards and watch the neighbourhood kids  happily take my favourite books home.

Unfortunately, things didn’t go as well as I had anticipated. (Yes, I’m sure you figured it out, Dear Bloggary.) My books did not arrive back in due time. Some I tracked down, and managed to retrieve. Others…well, I mourned their loss. I guess I was a bit naive about the honesty and reliability of others. I still am, sometimes. (What is the moral of the story here, Dear Bloggary?) I’m not sure of the moral of the story. Maybe it’s to look before you leap. Or, trust no one. (Yes, Dear Bloggary, I watched too many” X Files” episodes.) All I know is that not every story has a happy ending. So, just close that book and move on to the next… if your friends haven’t stolen them. (Yes, Dear Bloggery, in retrospect, a book store might have been a brighter idea.) The End.

Yours,

Shannon

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book ‘Em Danno!

  1. Kate Hall says:

    Thanks for linking up! I tried doing this as an adult. I was in an adoption support group and I had a ton of adoption-related books that I wanted to share. So I put them all out on a table at our next meeting and wrote my name in all of them and made little bookmarks with the date to return them, and nobody took any. So I gave up. I’m kind of a quitter if things don’t start going as planned quickly. Although I guess I’d rather have nobody take them than what happened with you – taken and not returned. Ugh.

    Like

  2. Oh this is so something I would have done and I remember my brother and I trying to pretend to sell my grandmother’s Reader’s Digests at one point. We really didn’t have any real customers, so you see where that was going!! Great share and thanks for linking with up with us 🙂 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

